Burbank Books and Antiques

Rare Books, Antiques, Fine Art and News

Book Collecting: Signed or Inscribed?

I’d like to preface this blog with a side note:  As I was preparing to write a blog on the debate between signed and inscribed books, I received a copy of Firsts magazine within which there is an article on my intended subject written by Robin Smiley. I have never had the pleasure to meet him, although we have spoken several times on the phone in the past. I consider him to be one of the most knowledgeable book collectors. This blog is by no means intended to challenge his article, but rather to continue the discussion. Robin and his wife Kathryn own Firsts magazine, and I would encourage any rare book collector or novice to subscribe. Every issue is informative and beneficial!

Is a book signed by the author more valuable than an inscribed book? I prefer a book signed by the author with no inscription. As a book seller, I encounter online buyers quite often who specifically ask me if the book is signed without inscription. This is a deal breaker for these buyers.

Image

Often, buyers are looking for books to gift to family or friends and they prefer not to give “Bill” a book inscribed to “Susan”. However, there are times when the inscribed book is more valuable to collectors when it is dedicated to another famous individual as it often raises the value.

Image

Currently, our store possesses a book inscribed by Jack London to a well-known American painter. In my opinion, this inscription makes the book extremely valuable for the following reasons:

1) London used an entire page (the FFEP) to quote a paragraph from the book.

2) He inscribed it to another famous person.

3) He signed and dated the inscription.

One obstacle faced as a rare and signed book seller is the presence of fake signatures. Due to this concern, many buyers prefer a plain inscription such as “Best Wishes” with a date as signature-only books are easier to fake.

I gladly welcome any points of view on this subject as this can be a controversial topic among buyers, as well as book sellers. Would you prefer to buy/sell signed or inscribed books?

Follow us on Twitter: @bibliostop

“Like Us” on Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/BurbankBooks

 

3 comments on “Book Collecting: Signed or Inscribed?

  1. Stephen
    March 13, 2013

    As a collector /dealer a book i prefer books without an inscription, unless the author has written the sentiment to a prominent person who has been instrumental in its development/content. However, when confronted with obtaining a rare or scarce first edition which has been inscribed by a previous owner to a friend or colleague, one has to sometimes overlook the “detriment” and be happy with the benefit of owning it.

  2. burbankbooks
    March 13, 2013

    Thanks for sharing your thoughts, Stephen. The ownership of such amazing and rare historical books is something we most definitely cherish, so we definitely agree with your sentiments.

  3. Steven A. Showfer
    March 16, 2013

    I, too, have customers who will not buy inscribed copies unless there is some attribution that goes with it. For myself, I’ve gotten over it. I say the more words the better. I’ve noticed that in the UK they’ve started the idea of “Signed, lined, and dated,” inscribing the book with a line of text rather than a personalization. I think that’s a nice compromise, and when I attend a signing I now ask for a line of text. Books that are for my own collection I’ll still have inscribed to me personally. Perhaps one day when my own books return to the market, some younger bookseller will write a catalog description that says, “Although not marked in any other way, this copy has been inscribed to the preeminent bookseller and owner of Showfer Books who specialized in Science Fiction, Mysteries and Cinema. Simply inscribed, “To Steve–.” A fine copy in fine dj.

Leave a comment

Information

This entry was posted on March 12, 2013 by and tagged , , , , , , , , , .